President Gabel in front of a giant block M
We are committed to honoring outstanding students for their invaluable leadership and service to the University of Minnesota Twin Cities and the community.' -Joan T.A. Gabel
President, University of Minnesota

Nomination Info

Eligibility criteria and nomination instructions.


Current and past award recipients.
Honoring Outstanding Student Leaders


The President’s Student Leadership & Service Award (PSLSA) recognizes the accomplishments and contributions of outstanding student leaders at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities. It is presented to students for their exceptional leadership and service to the University of Minnesota and the surrounding community.

Nominations are accepted from January 19 through February 8, 2021. Review nomination information and guidelines here.

The PSLSA is a collaboration between the Office of the President, Office for Student Affairs, University of Minnesota Alumni Association and Student Unions & Activities.

Recipients of the PSLSA who are outstanding in certain aspects of their leadership and service (as determined by the PSLSA Selection Committee) may be eligible for one of the following scholarship awards:

Donald R. Zander Alumni Award for Outstanding Student Leadership
Four undergraduate students each selected to receive a $2,000 scholarship

Mary A. McEvoy Public Engagement and Leadership Award
One graduate student and one professional student each selected to receive a $1,000 scholarship

Please direct questions to the Student Activities Office at or 612-626-6919.